Get In Touch


PNWA Names Walt Evans Among its 2013 Distinguished Service Award Winners

October 10, 2013


Pacific Northwest Waterways Association (PNWA) has announced the recipients of the 2013 Distinguished Service Award. The honorees were announced in conjunction with PNWA's 2013 Annual Convention, which was held in Portland, Oregon on October 2nd - 4th. Recipients of the award are selected for their dedication to the northwest navigation, energy, irrigation, and recreation communities.

This year, PNWA honored five leaders with the award: Sheryl Carrubba (U.S. Army Corps of Engineers), Walt Evans (Schwabe, Williamson & Wyatt), Don Mann (Port of Newport), Jim Neva (Port of Ilwaco), and Jim Toomey (Port of Pasco). These individuals have gone above and beyond the call of duty to support Northwest transportation infrastructure, trade, tourism, and environmental restoration.

At the PNWA Annual Convention, PNWA also announced Senator Ron Wyden as the recipient of PNWA's 2013 Legislator of the Year award. PNWA is honoring Senator Wyden for his tremendous efforts this year to promote economic activity in Oregon. PNWA and its members are especially grateful for his efforts to support Oregon's small coastal ports, attention to national energy policy, and interest in ensuring the state's continued international grain trade.