Get In Touch


48 Schwabe Attorneys Make the List of Best Lawyers in America for 2016

September 8, 2015


Pacific Northwest regional law firm  Schwabe, Williamson & Wyatt today announced 48 of the firm's attorneys have been named to the 2016 Best Lawyers in America list.  

Additionally, five Schwabe attorneys were named "Lawyer of the Year." This award goes to a single lawyer in a particular practice area in each market covered by the guide. The Schwabe attorneys named Lawyer of the Year are as follows:

Carmen M. Calzacorta—Banking and Finance Law, Portland, Oregon 

Michael A. Cohen—Copyright Law, Portland, Oregon 

Peter E. Heuser—Patent Law, Portland, Oregon 

Walter W. Miller—Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law, Eugene, Oregon 

Kent Roberts—Admiralty and Maritime Law, Portland, Oregon 

Schwabe attorneys named Best Lawyer in America for 2016 are listed below by market. 


Tia Lewis—Land Use and Zoning Law

D. Joe Willis—Eminent Domain and Condemnation Law


Walter W. Miller– Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law


Al AuYeung– Patent law

David W. Axelrod – Litigation-Patent and Litigation-Intellectual Property 

David F. Bartz, Jr. – Litigation-Environmental

Carmen M. Calzacorta – Banking and Finance, Corporate, Financial Services Regulation Law, Securities/Capital Markets Law, and Securities Regulation

Michael A. Cohen – Copyright Law and Litigation-Intellectual Property

Robert D. Dayton – Trusts and Estates

James F. Dulcich – Real Estate Law

Thomas V. Dulcich – Commercial Litigation, Litigation-Securities, Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions-Defendants and Litigation-Labor and Employment

Jeffrey S. Eden – Commercial Litigation, Litigation-Securities, and Product Liability Litigation-Defendants 

Franklin Erisman – Energy Law, Mining Law and Natural Resources Law

Michael T. Garone – Labor Law-Management and Employment Law-Management

Jill S. Gelineau – Eminent Domain and Condemnation Law

Walter H. Grebe – Corporate Law

John D. Guinasso – Real Estate Law

Kelly T. Hagan – Health Care Law

Kurt F. Hansen – Health Care Law

Richard K. Hansen – Product Liability Litigation-Defendants

Timothy F. Haslach – Litigation-Intellectual Property

Nikki C.Hatton – Trusts and Estates

Terry C. Hauck – Real Estate Law

Peter E. Heuser – Litigation-Intellectual Property, Litigation-Property, Patent Law, and Copyright Law 

Margaret Ann Hoffmann – Product Liability Litigation-Defendants, and Litigation-Labor and Employment

Elizabeth E. Howard – Water Law

Bruce F. Howell – Health Care Law

Kirk Johansen – Natural Resources and Timber Law

Kevin F. Kerstiens – Tax Law

Brenna K. Legaard – Commercial Litigation, Litigation-Intellectual Property, Litigation-Patent, and Patent Law

Darien S. Loiselle – Litigation-Construction and Construction Law 

Mark A. Long – Business Organizations (including LLC and Partnerships), Corporate Law, and Securities/Capital Markets Law

Mark A. Manulik – Real Estate Law

Joel A. Parker – Commercial Litigation 

Alex I.Poust – Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law

C. Kent Roberts – Admiralty and Maritime Law

Elizabeth A.Schleuning – Employment Law-Management, and Litigation-Labor and Employment 

Marc K. Sellers – Litigation and Controversy-Tax, and Tax Law

Mark A. Stayer – Real Estate Law and Timber Law

Thomas M. Tongue – Corporate Law, Mergers and Acquisitions Law, and Insurance Law 

Thomas M. Triplett – Employment Management Law and Labor Management Law 

Jeremy T. Vermilyea – Construction Law

Jay T. Waldron – Environmental Law, Litigation-Environmental, and Litigation-Regulatory Enforcement (SEC, Telecom, Energy)'


Martha O. Pagel – Water Law


Jennifer Campbell – Commercial Litigation 

Connie Sue Martin – Environmental Law, Litigation-Environmental, and Native American Law

Dennis A. Ostgard – Real Estate Law

Lawrence R. Ream – Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law